Pennsylvania | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
vehicle search
is it legal for an employer to search your vehicle when it is on there property AT WORK ? [ PA. LAW ]
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terrence Valko |
Re: vehicle search Other than a gross physical inspection from the outside, yes. You would not have contracted away the privacy right involved in most circumstances.
It is a separate question of whether One can successfully sue for damages if fired for refusing to let the boss have your keys.
Interesting follow-up questions would involve how entry was gained/ what would have happened had the doors been locked, whether there was suspicion of theft, drug dealing or some other crime, and whether than suspicion was reasonable.
Pay $50 to a lawyer in your town and see what he/she thinks during the course of an eye-to-eye consultation, as your fact pattern is suprisingly rare. Don't take anything in this answer to suggest that workers have rights. Each and every worker right was hard-fought and may early litigants have been martyred by their employer.
Good Luck.
TV |
Top Attorneys in PA
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Law Offices of Stanley Fudor
Cranberry Twp., PA
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-05
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Dessen, Moses & Rossitto
Willow Grove, PA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-24
Law Office of Charles Weiner
Bensalem, PA
Questions Answered: 85
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-02
Search Questions and Answers


