Pennsylvania  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
12/09/04, 12:44 pm

Legal Question


Swearing oath to tell the truth...

If you come in front of a court and judge and are asked to 'swear to tell the truth...', can you legally state that you swear to NOT tell the truth? Can you also refuse to reply? Would you be in contempt of the courts if you did so? What authroity does the judge have to force you to initially swear so the court has authority over you? Thanks! Joe


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search