Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/23/04, 7:49 pm

Legal Question


Can US companies collect from overseas?

I have sizeable outstanding US credit card debt with my last US address being Pennsylvania. I am now living overseas and my overseas salary is not enough to cover my US debts. Because I am no longer a US resident I am not eligible to file for bankruptcy. I have no intentions of ever going back to the US and have citizenship in New Zealand where I am currently living. I have been advised by friends to simply stop paying my US credit card debt. If I do, what are the consequences and what actions can they take against me as I am now living overseas? I have not renounced my US citizenship as of yet.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search