Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/21/01, 7:10 pm

Legal Question


Old debt collection attempts

I recently receive a call from Citibank in NY about an account I (allegedly) closed out in 1978 where a balance on the Checking Plus feature was outstanding.

I do not remember this account. A collection agent contacted me and insisted that I could make good on a $3550 debt by paying $1778. First, I have never been notified that I had an outstanding balance when the account was closed. I need to know if there is a statute of limitations on this type of debt collection & what I should do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search