Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/06/06, 10:50 am

Legal Question


served 3 business days before hearing, judgement rendered

My wife and I were served with papers from a magistrate for an old credit card 3 days before the hearing. We were unaware of it before due to the fact that we had moved years before and they had been trying to serve to the old address. Due to the move we had lost any documentation relating to this and did not have adequate time to see what we do, or do not have. We have now recieved a notice of judgement with 30 days to appeal. Is there any recourse to this? Aside from the fact of being given inadequate time to respond, we believe that this debt dates back to 2000 or 1999, though I question whether we can easily documet that (they are saying 2 years). We definitely don't have $8000 on hand to satisfy this, and cannot afford to have our bank account or property seized.

Any recourse?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search