Pennsylvania  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/23/12, 8:31 pm

My boyfriend and I recently got into a fight. He had been drinking and I was not happy about it. The fight eventually became physical, his blocking my way when I tried to go upstairs and me hitting him in the face. It did not stop there but nobody was seriously injured. I called the police out of anger wanting him removed from the home for a few hours or days just to sober up and cool off. In my written statement I told the police all of the things he did but left out my major part in it. I did include that he did not belong in jail and that all I wanted was for him to receive the help he so desperately needed. Now there is a no contact order in effect, he spent a week in prison, and is being charged with simple assault, terroristic threats and harassment. This has all gotten out of control. We have children and this is tearing our family apart. I just wanted him to sober up and a little cooling off period. If I retract my statement and tell the police the truth, that I was the aggressor in this case can I be prosecuted and taken away from my kids as well? This District Attorney does not seem to be interested in helping the situation.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search