Pennsylvania | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Traffic Violation Officers
I ran a yellow light. A police officer pulled me over nearly a mile away from the light without putting his siren on, only lights. He cited me for running a RED light. I went to my hearing to contest the ticket, but before I ever say the madgistrate the police officer who cited me spoke to me and told me if I was going to contest the ticket he was going to dismiss it and give me a new one with a more serious violation. He told me to leave and also said that a new hearing date will be provided to me via mail. I believe I have a right to contest the first ticket and that my right has been violated, but is it legal to give me another ticket three weeks after the fact?


