Pennsylvania | Elder Law
Legal Question
Maximum gift
My mother would like to give me cash for a down payment on a house. Is there a maximum amount and what are the tax and legal restrictions if any. Thank you.(She is 72, retired, I am 33)
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ilene Young |
Re: Maximum gift Without knowledge of the specifics of your and your mother's financial situation, it is impossible to comment on all the ramifications of property transfers. There are many areas of law which interact in their effect on estate planning for elders, including income, gift and estate tax laws, the regulatory schemes which impact upon incapacity planning, such as medicare and medicaid, the property requirments for entry into continuing care contracts, etc. Mistakes can have very serious ramifications. Therefore you should seek independent advice and consult with an estate planning professional.
The discussion below relates only to the general question of gift taxes and may not apply to your situation. Please do not rely upon it. For information for the impact of transfers upon incapacity planning and medicaid, please consult a professional.
Two taxes directly effect any substantial gift -income tax and gift tax. Generally, property you receive as a gift, bequest, or inheritance is not included in your income. However, if property you receive this way later produces income such as interest, dividends, or rentals, that income is taxable to you.
Gift tax is a tax upon the giver. (In certain instances it may be paid by the person receiving the gift. Consult a tax professional for your specific situation) It is intended to tax property transferred outside the estate, so that the gifting process may not be used extensively to avoid estate tax. It is payable at the time of the estate tax payment when the amount given in excess of the allowable exemption is deducted from the estate tax exemption. Currently, the annual allowable gift exemption amount is $11,000.00 to each donee. There is also a cumulative lifetime exemption.
Ilene Young, Esq/ Law Offices of Carol E. Cardonick, PC 215-444-0445
As you are not a client of our firm, discussion of the above topic is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Applicability of the legal principles discussed in this response may differ substantially in individual situations, different counties, or in different states. If you have a specific concern or legal problem, do not rely on these materials. Be sure to seek the advice of an attorney about your particular situation and facts.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Brandon J. Barnett Attorney At Law
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Dessen, Moses & Rossitto
Willow Grove, PA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-24
Real World Law, P.C.
Wilmington, DE
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Hillary N. Snyder, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-20
Law Office of Scott D. Polsky
Fort Washington, PA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Search Questions and Answers


