Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
I live in Pennsylvania and have been caring for my nephew full time for just under a year, part time for his whole life. My brother and sister-in-law are getting a divorce and I need to get legal custody of the child because neither parent is fit. I also have recently gotten married, but my husband is in the Army and it would be difficult for him to come to PA for a hearing. My question is do I need my husband to be part of the adoption, or can I do it myself? What steps do I take to get a voluntary relinquishment of rights? If I can get them to volunarily give up the child, do I need a lawyer?


