Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
separation divorce
I will be separated two years on December 12,2008. When can I filoe for a two year separation divorce. Do I have to wait until the day or can I start, say, 30 days before.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Audrey Buglione |
Re: separation divorce You may file for divorce prior to a two year separation; however, the court will not issue a divorce decree prior to the two years unless both parties consent (unless grounds for divorce exist, however you have not indicate that this is the case). There is also a mandatory 90 day waiting period between the date of filing for divorce and the date of entry of the divorce decree regardless of whether both parties are willing to consent to the entry of the decree. You should make sure that all economic issues regarding the divorce have been finalized prior to asking the court to enter a divorce decree, otherwise you may lose rights to property distribution, alimony or spousal support. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C.
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


