Legal Question in Insurance Law in Pennsylvania

I have a car insurance policy with my 18 year old son on the policy, can my 20 yo son drive the car as a permitted occasional drive without being added to the policy

Asked on 7/28/11, 2:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Solomon Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

First, the insurance company has the right to know what licensed drivers live with you. You should be honest in advising them that your 20 year old lives with you, if that is the case. They will take this into consideration in figuring your premiums, and will want know what cars, if any he drives. If you say "none", then the insurance company may require you to declare the 20 year old as a non-permitted driver, in which case if he has an accident, the insurance company will not pay. On the other hand, a lot depnds on the 20 year old's past driving history, and whether it includes moving violation, accidents, etc. If not , the insurance company might not ask for th is limitation. If that is the case, and so long as he lives in your household, and insurance company knows, you are probably OK so long as he has the owner's permission to drive the car. You should be honest with the insurance company, to make sure that you and your sons are covered in the event of an accident.

Read more
7/28/11, 6:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now