Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
termination of insurance policy before termination of employee
My dad was employeed by a small business and was fired on a monday because the owner said he couldn't pay him anymore. When my mom called to find out how long his insurance was good for she was told that the owner sent the forms in the cancel his policy the friday before my dad was fired. My dad had a quadruple bypass 2 yrs ago and is on medication. His boss seemed upset that this raised his premium. Is it illegal to fire someone because of the insurance they need and even more so is it legal to cancel someone's insurance before notifying them?


