Pennsylvania | Intellectual Property
7/05/10, 3:26 am
Legal Question
How do I protect a document and the idea for this document that I came up with?
How do I protect a document and the idea for this document that I came up with?
|
Read More Answered By: Kevin B. Murphy |
Any attorney will say you need to define the type of idea and document you wish to protect. Various protective devices exist ranging from copyright to patent, but without further information it is not possible to say. Consult with an attorney in your area for specifics.
Kevin B. Murphy, B.S., M.B.A., J.D. - Mr. Franchise Franchise Attorney
|
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
You'll need to be more specific about what you mean by "protect" and "document."
The law provides the tool of "copyright" to provide writers with the exclusive right to authorize making copies of a work of authorship. In fact, one automatically has a copyright as soon as the work is fixed in a tangible medium of expression. It is desirable to register the copyright with the U.S. Copyright Office to further secure the protection.
Non-legal tools to protect documents include encryption and digital rights management systems.
Then you mention "idea." Protection of ideas are outside the realm of copyright. However, if the "idea" is a patentable invention, something novel, useful and nonobvious from previous technology, then it's worth considering seeking a patent. However, a week ago, the U.S. Supreme Court reiterated that "abstract ideas" are not subject matter than can be patented. That was in the Bilski case, which is discussed in my blog at http://ht.ly/25f3d |
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Swarthmore, PA
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 125
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Hermitage, PA
Questions Answered: 25
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-05
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
► Would it be a violation if any laws(for examples copyright laws) to upload the...
► I want to register a domain name but it has the name of a popular tv show in it. I...
► How do i get something copyrighted if i cant pay a fee at present
► I have a Web Site, on the internet. I was wondering, can I place articles on my Site...
► As an art student whenever I photograph anyone I have them sign a contract. I took...
► I have come up with an idea for a new product I would like to sell. It would be a...
► My brother & I own a pizza shop, we copyrighted our name when we first opened...
More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press