Pennsylvania  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
1/15/06, 2:34 pm

Legal Question


Malpractice- RN

I have a question reguarding malpractice for RN in home health. I was called to a patients home by the nurse aide we had sent there. The patient wanted out of bed, and only had a hoyer lift to do this. I explained that we don't use the hoyer for a one staff person transfer as it is not safe. We use a slide board for this. The patient stated they hadn't wanted to buy a slide so their wasn't one there. He went on to say that he and his wife (who is a physcian)use an upside down cookie sheet as a slide board. While this is a little out of the ordinary, I've seem much more unusual in home care. I transfered him with the upside down cookie sheet, settled him safely and comforatably in his wheelchair and he was satisfied. I stayed about half an hour talking with him, and then left. When his wife came home she was very angry that I hadn't couldn't use the hoyer, she did state that they used the sheet a few times, but it made it difficult on her to get him in to bed. The next day she stated that he had a bruise on his back caused by the move, and I am liable. Could this lead to a loss of liscense? She hasn't sued yet, but now I'm worried (and spending time trying to figure out what other careers I'd like.) Thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search