Pennsylvania  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/01/08, 2:21 pm

Legal Question


Who owns this house?

My eldlery uncle bought a house for cash in 2005, and had me sign the deed, which he referred to as ''putting the house in my name''. His purpose in buying the house was to allow my mother to live there and pay him $500 a month rent. As I understood it, I was the owner of the house. My name is listed as the owner on the website of the city where I live and where the house is.

He maintained that he was the owner of the house and would be so until he dies, whereupon I would be the owner. I couldn't understand how that could be true if my name is on the deed, but I humored him and went along. Every month he would send me a check for the cost of the home insurance, and in 2007 sent me a check to pay the city real estate tax.

In 2008, when he reached the age of 90 and was demonstrating clear signs of confusion and memory loss, and also had for some unknown reason withdrawn all contact from me, he forgot to send the money for the real estate tax that was due. I was worried that it would have to come out of my money, so I decided to take steps to make sure this didn't happen again. I asked my mother to give me $200 out of the $500 she paid him for rent, so that I could have the money to pay the insurance ($100) and a portion to save


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search