Pennsylvania | Traffic Law
Legal Question
parking lot accident
My car was parked in a parking lot stall and I was exiting the car - looked around, no cars in sight, opened the door, got out of the car, and then another car came from behind and hit the driver's side door of my car doing some damage to the door rim. It actually just barely missed me. The driver of the second car was very apologetic, she said she was very much in a hurry and wasn't looking. Me called the police, they made an accident report, that was it.
Now the insurance company of the driver of the other car called me to tell me I was responsible for the accident bacause by Pennsilvania laws the person getting out of a car has to watch out for other vehicles. I am fine with that statement in principle but I was already out of the car and the door was already wide open when the second car struck it, which is evident from the damage.
Are they right about the laws applicable to this situation or I might have a chance getting them pay for the damage to my car? Any advice 'd be greatly appeciated.


