Pennsylvania | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
What is an average fee to settle an estate in Pennsylvania? I have spoken to a few attornies and their fees vary. I have been told $4000-$8000. Some have said a percentage as high as 8%.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Kelly |
Pennsylvania permits a reasonable fee (which 4000-8000 may be depending on the size of the estate) and it also permits attorneys to charge a percentage. So both answers you received are correct. The fee you get charged will usually depend on the size of the probate estate (in $). For example, if the estate has pretty few assets, you will probably be quoted an hourly rate (the $4000-8000) as it is a fair amount of work and a percentage fee wouldn't cover the lawyers time. If it is a large estate, you will get charged a percentage. You begin to see your dilemma - you get charged the most in either case. With this information though you can negotiate the other way - that is if it is a small estate try to get the percentage rate, if it is a large estate go for hourly fee. Either way, understand that there are other ways to negotiate a better price. I am an estate administration attorney in the 17601 zip code (Lancaster) - seems we are close. If you would like to speak you can reach me at 717 368-3312 or pennlawman@aol.com. Otherwise, I wish you the best of luck. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2702
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Miriam N. Jacobson
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Morrow & Artim, P.C.
North Versailles, PA
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


