Pennsylvania | Workers Comp
Legal Question
I work as a server in an upscale restaurant. My employer requires every server to pay one doller after each shift for a "breakage fee." They say this is to cover any breakage or damage we my incure over the course of our job. However, I've made two mistakes of the past two years concerning credit card payments (combining for roughly $60) which I was forced to reimburse or lost my job. Is this legal? Isn't the breakage fee illegal in itself as it is unclaimed income? I've never signed paperwork agreeing to pay this fee. If I'm charged this fee (which for me totals roughly $250 annually), shouldn't I be free of any financial obligation concerning my mistakes?


