Rhode Island  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
4/13/08, 3:49 pm

Legal Question


Rerturning a secuirty deposit to a tenant

Hello -

I recently rented an apt. to a couple and insisted that both parties be listed on a month-to-month lease. Both agreed and signed the lease. One party gave 30 days notice to vacate and is requesting 1/2 of the security deposit back. The other party is going to continue to live in the unit. Am I obligated to return 1/2 the deposit? There is no language in the existing lease that states 1/2 would be returned to a party that vacates. Am I also obligated/advised to draw up a new lease with the remaining tenant or do we need to amend the existing lease?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search