South Carolina  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/27/09, 9:29 pm

Legal Question


My husband and I have been caring for a 4 year old for the last six months. Her aunt has guardianship of her. The aunt moved to North Carolina in March and left the little girl with her boyfriend. She did not take her with her because she stated that she didn't want her anymore. She has not sent any sort of support for the child and has only been to see her twice. We have been providing all food clothing etc for this child since then. I have asked her aunt to please sign a power of atty so I can at least take the child to the doctor and enroll her in school next year. She won't. We want to seek custody for this child and if possible eventually adopt her. Where do we need to start and what needs to be done? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search