South Carolina | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
What can be done if a house was legally titled in a senior citizen name with all the correct paperwork and it was tax exempt for a couple years then the county started to re tax at the regular rate? Can this be reversed and if so how to go about it?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Johnston |
I'm not following your question. But it doesn't matter. I will tell you what to do regardless.
First thing is to consult with a CPA on the tax liability. You can also call the tax office and see what they both say about exact what taxes they were liable for and what they were not. In other words, be absolutely sure that you completly understand the situation.
If you discover that they were in fact improperly taxed, then they can go to the tax office, explain what the problem is. Chances are they will correct the problem for you. As long as you are right and you communicate that to them, my guess is that they will gladly fix the problem. They are not perfect and make mistakes and they understand that.
If they will not fix it and you are still convinced they are wrong, then go see an attorney about suing them. You might also want to ask the tax office if there is some sort of a review board that looks into tax disputes. Good luck |
Top Attorneys in SC
Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston
Surfside Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 1894
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Ferrene & Associates, PA
Hilton Head Island, SC
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-08-27
Cromer Law Firm, LLC
Anderson, SC
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Joseph E Seagle PA
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-05
Law Offices of Walter H. Smith
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-29
Law Offices of J. Scott Falls, LLC
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-14
Pavilack and Associates, P.A.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-10
Archie Ackerman
Cottageville, SC
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


