About 4 or 5 years ago, I obtained a county business tax license in Tennessee to conduct a cleaning business as a sole proprietorship. I was young and had not did much research. Well, when the business did not take off, I just kinda forgot about it over time. I had no idea you had to renew or get penalized and fined until recently when I actually did some research to open another business. What should I do? I know you can get in trouble for not paying taxes, but how do I go about making it right? Do I need to hire a lawyer?
1 Answer from Attorneys
I think that you may be able to get this cleared up with some communication with the government. Letters from attorneys typically get a little more attention than a letter from an individual.
Related Questions & Answers
We signed an estimate with a landscaper and gave him a deposit of $1,000.00. Within... Asked 8/04/12, 4:43 pm in United States Tennessee Business Law
Can a spouse sign a 1040 income tax form for the other spouse in Tennessee? Asked 2/08/12, 1:19 pm in United States Tennessee Business Law
Started small painting business L.L.C., have workers comp and liability. Husband and... Asked 12/05/11, 12:31 pm in United States Tennessee Business Law
If I owe a bank a large credit card debt and a check from that same bank is issued... Asked 8/20/11, 9:54 am in United States Tennessee Business Law
Can include a clause in a business lease that requires the tenants to pay for fire... Asked 8/16/11, 10:46 am in United States Tennessee Business Law