Tennessee  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/18/09, 2:25 am

Legal Question


My ex and I have an 11 year old daughter. 10 years ago we received a court custody order that states he had physical custody and we have joint legal custody. Right after the order he and our daughter moved into his mother's house and have been there the last 10 years.

I just found out today that 2 weeks ago he entered an inpatient treatment facility for crack addiction and will be gone 6-9 months. His mother has my daughter and said that he signed temporary parental rights over to her. My first question is can they do that without notifying me? Second, do I now have good grounds to take over physical custody since he will be gone for a substantial period of time?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search