Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Tennessee

I have filed a suit in small claims court against a friend who owes me a considerable amount of money and refuses to repay it. I sent a demand letter but got no response. Our case was continued at her request and the hearing was scheduled for today however she has asked for a continuance again. When the judge asked her attorney why we couldn't hear the case today her attorney stated she had a prior commitment. That commitment was playing in a golf tournament which I made sure the judge knew. Should that have been an acceptable excuse? She isn't taking this seriously and it is to me

Asked on 6/11/13, 9:53 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Barney Barney Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I take it the General Sessions judge continued the case again? I wouldn't think a golf tournament should be an acceptable excuse, but it is up to the judge's discretion.

Read more
6/11/13, 12:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Tennessee

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now