Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Texas

I have 2 pet lizards at a friends house. I paid for them, their housing, and everything to do with them. However, the friend refuses to give them back. I want to sell them, If I sold them and gave that person a receipt, is it legal for them to go get the lizards and caging with the signed and hand written receipt?

Asked on 12/01/10, 6:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Since there's no VIN on a lizard, you're going to have to sue the guy who stole (is stealing) the lizards; the cause of action is "conversion." This lawsuit would be through a Justice Court.

Read more
12/08/10, 5:01 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now