Texas  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
6/17/05, 10:54 am

Legal Question


Search of a Locked Box

If I am pulled over for a traffic offence such as speeding or OMVI and the officer asks to search the car and in the car I have a locked box. I refuse premission to search .Does the refusual to allow a search give rise to probable cause to get a warrant to search the locked box? or does the committing of the traffic offense itself give rise to probable cause to get a warrant to search the locked box. or does the traffic offense allow the officer to conduct a warrentless search of the locked box. Does the refusal to not open the locked box thus putting the officer in the position of using force to open the locked box place me in a better position to argue the unlawfulness of the search?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search