Texas  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/24/10, 3:21 am

Legal Question


I have not been able to make payments on my car the last couple of months, so naturally my finance company has hired a repossession company to reposess my car. A worker who works for the reposession company has came to my house and harassed my family and text my girlfriend telling her that I am going to jail for "hindering a creditor" I don't know if I can go to jail for this, because from my understanding I thought this was a civil matter and the law is not to get involved. They called my girlfriend's phone this morning and left a message stating I have 7 days to hand over the vehicle or they will be bringing a sheriff to my house to arrest me. Legally, can I go to jail for this? or are they just trying to scare me into giving them the car?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search