Texas | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Served w/Citation Credit Card Debt
I was served (at work) with citation for a credit card debt. I have 10 days with which to file an answer. I have no clue as to what to do. I got into financial difficulties in 1997/1998 and wasn't able to make full payments on some of my credit cards. I know I am responsible for the debt. I am working with a collection agency to pay off one of the other credit cards. My attempts to work with one of the credit card companies two years ago was to no avail. I sent in payments and had explained to them that I was knocking my head against a brick wall and that I would never be able to 'catch up' as long as they continued to add on overlimit fees, finance charges and late fees. I just 'quit' paying them and sent them a letter to not call me at work, which they did. They hired a law frim to file the petition and will want filing fees, court costs, etc. I now have been 'served' and don't know what they can do to collect what they say is owed to them. How can I 'answer' the citation (original petition) from the law firm? I'm at a loss.
Top Areas of Law


