Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

If a person is found guilty of a federal drug crime and when the sentencing is handed down on the psi it states that they added points for possession of a firearm but, the defendant was and has never been charged with a firearm, can they do that? Also, there was originally 3 charges and one was dismissed because of illegal search and seizure, but when the sentence was calculated according to the amount of drugs possessed they also included the weight of the drugs from the case that was dismissed, can they do that? I mean legally? The defendant also supposedly didn't qualify for the safety valve because of this firearm they have never been charged with, ever! How can this be?

Asked on 10/03/12, 4:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The convicted person needs to talk with the lawyer who represented him/her. This should have been discussed prior to sentencing.

Read more
10/23/12, 1:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now