Texas | Education Law
Legal Question
Theft of Monies
5th grade teacher at child's school requested that parents sponsor their children for $22 basketball uniforms. Monies were provided to teacher for 52 children @ $22 each. Teacher gave monies to third party to order uniforms. Third party kept monies and uniforms were never obtained. Principal of school states that parents will have to seek monies from third party who kept money. Principal issued school voucher to cover cost of uniforms in lieu of monies that parents submitted and is requesting that uniforms be returned back to school, as school paid for uniforms. As parents, do we not have any recourse. We paid monies to school in good faith not knowing they were using third party to handle purchase of uniforms and feel that school should reimburse parents.


