I filed an agreed, simple and uncontested divorce in Texas. We are required to wait 60 days until the judge can officially sign it. Is there anything I can do make sure it doesn't take longer than that? What do I need to do to have the court waive the 30 day waiting period to remarry?
1 Answer from Attorneys
You'll need to set the divorce for a hearing in front of the judge. Call the court coordinator for the court where your divorce is assigned and ask what you need to do to get an uncontested divorce on the docket and then try to get it scheduled as close to the 60 day period as possible. Inform the Coordinator that you are Pro Se and they should be helpful. To have the 30-day waiting period waived, you need to request it from the Court in your Petition (you can file an amended petition for free typically and does not affect the time requirements). And then again in your decree. Since you didn't mention it in your post, make sure your spouse signed the waiver of service and it is also filed with the Court.
Related Questions & Answers
Have 16 year old living with us due to fact mom treated him so badly. He will be 16... Asked 6/03/13, 11:33 pm in United States Texas Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
Can my ex husband prevent my kids from visiting their grandparents Asked 6/03/13, 7:30 pm in United States Texas Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
I am the non custodial parent and pay up to 600 in child support, everytime i pick... Asked 6/03/13, 5:18 pm in United States Texas Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
In Texas if I am married to my husband and he has to pay child support will they... Asked 6/03/13, 4:22 pm in United States Texas Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
My boyfriend is going through a divorce. He has two children. They both play sports.... Asked 6/03/13, 9:55 am in United States Texas Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption