Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Texas

Are the Profits From the Deceased Busines Community Property?

After 9 years of marriage to my mother, my stepfather passed away last September. He owned his own business, which he started before he married my mother. During the time they were married, my stepfather did not take a salary. Instead, at the end of each year he divided the profits from the business with his son who also worked in the business with him.

Does Texas community property law consider the 2007 profits from t he business as community property?

Asked on 7/15/08, 11:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Are the Profits From the Deceased Busines Community Property?

Probably but your mother needs to discuss with a competent lawyer. Call us if you wish

Read more
Answered on 7/15/08, 1:37 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now