Utah | Criminal Law
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Blakely |
Re: Pleas I believe what you are talking about is a "plea in abeyance." If a prosecutor offers you a plea in abeyance, what it means is that you will enter your plea, either no contest or guilty, before the court. That plea is then not entered for a certain period of time, as laid down by the court. During that time, you must do the things that the court tells you to do (which may include paying a fine, doing community service hours, going to counseling, staying out of trouble, etc). If you complete what the judge has told you to do during the time he or she has ordered, then at the end of the period, the case is dismissed as if it were never filed. Depending upon the facts of the case, it can be a great way to settle a case. There are some crimes, such as sex crimes, etc, that are not eligible for a plea in abeyance, and the prosecutor must be willing to agree to it. |
Top Attorneys in UT
Law Offices of Kelly Ann Booth
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Arnold & Wadsworth
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Office of Michael Studebaker, LLC
Ogden, UT
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-12
Jared Lawrence PC
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-31
Blakely Law Office
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-02-25
Law Office of Steven M. DuBreuil
Sandy, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Len R. Eldridge, P.C.
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Frazier Law Firm P.C.
Draper, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


