Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Virginia

I was awarded a gasrnishment from the courts from my ex husband, due to martial dept he incurred during our marraige He is now stateing he is going to file bankruptcy. Does the garnishment cease? Will the garnishment be wiped away due to him filing bankruptcy? What are my recourses?

Thanks

Lisa

Asked on 9/10/11, 4:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, the garnishment will stay in place as long as this marital debt is

not discharged in the bankruptcy which will most likely turn out

to be the case.

Read more
9/15/11, 6:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now