Virginia | Constitutional Law
3/23/10, 3:07 pm
Legal Question
Can the Walsh Act be applied to someone twenty years after the fact when there was no sexual assault involved?
Can the Walsh Act be applied to someone twenty years after the fact when there was no sexual assault involved?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Yes, if the convicted offender fits into what the Act terms a Tier 3 offender status (the most serious) and therefore is required under the Act to register for the remainder of his life, irrespective if whether his crimes were violent or non-violent and no matter how long ago that they may have been committed.
Article 1, Section 9 of the U.S. Constitution provides "No bill of attainder or ex post facto law shall be passed." Thus far, however, the Adam Walsh Act of 2006 seems to have withstood any challenges to its constitutionality despite its apparent ex post facto characteristics with respect to its capacity for retroactive application to a certain class of convicted pedophilic offenders.
|
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20732
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 96
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-23
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Springfield, VA
Questions Answered: 64
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-13
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-26
Annandale, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Winchester, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► What do you do when you catch the attorny you let go because they refuse to enter...
► Are there currently any relevant cases concerning the right to privacy vs. exposing...
► Can a state recall its United States Senators and if so what is required and under...
► I was arrested for DIP. Yes, I was extremely drunk, but not what I consider in...
► In virignia if the virignia appelelate overrules judge westerbrook parkers ruling on...
► I was contacted by a one eight hundred number about debt collection regarding a debt...
► Does the commonwealth of VA violate convicted felons rights granted under the 15th...
More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Virginia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press