Virginia  |  Construction Law

question bubble
12/29/09, 8:52 am

Legal Question


I live in Fairfax County, Virginia. I would like to know whether flashing was required around windows and balconies according to the building code in 1994, which is the code my condo building was following when it was built. I have been hearing both yes and no from people I have asked. When it rains, the water leaks inside my condo. I was told that there is no flashing around the windows and the balcony above me and that is why it leaks, but that at that time flashing was not required. Thanks for any help you can offer.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search