class 4 felony child neglect
If someone is charged with class 4 felony child neglect and assualt & battery on a family member during the preliminary if the assualt charge is dismissed can the felony child neglect charge still stand? If so what are the chances of getting a bond? And what is the jail time mandatory for this type of charge?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: class 4 felony child neglect
The felony child neglect charge is an independent charge and could well stand on its own, depending upon the particular facts of the case.
Whether bond would be granted would again be dependent upon the particular facts of this case,
particularly in regard to the issues of the defendant's likelihood of flight and whether he or she would pose a danger to the community if released pretrial.
Section 18.2-10 of the Virginia Criminal Code
prescribes the possible punishment for conviction of a Class 4 felony as a term of imprisonment not less than two years nor more than 10 years and a fine not to exceed $100,000.
Related Questions & Answers
Fraternazation prison nurse gets involved with inmate she slips him a cell phone and... Asked 5/23/06, 6:47 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Sundown laws Can a circuit court judge legally order a defendant who has been placed... Asked 5/23/06, 3:58 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Sexual assault charges If someone is being accused of sexual assault and it was... Asked 5/19/06, 10:38 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
High Court If @ the prelimenary hearing you were told your charges might be reduced... Asked 5/17/06, 11:36 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
PO dismissed - now a class 1 misd I previously had some concerns regarding a... Asked 5/13/06, 11:39 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law