what is the punishment for first offence of shoplifting in va. My friend stole some stuff from sears but the value was only $64 dollars, but she paid restitution of $38. They are trying to say I knew she was going to do it, because she went in the fitting room with me when I tried a pair of shorts on. Thats when she stole the stuff, and I tried a pair of shades on and walke out the store on accident I forgot I had them in my hand. What is going to happen? Am I going to jail?
2 Answers from Attorneys
No, jail is unlikely, except in Prince William County where the prosecutor's office
routinely seeks two days of jail time for all first time offenders convicted of petty
Better get an attorney to represent you in this matter, if at all possible.
Criminal charge for shoplifting in Virginia is in the following statute- Code § 18.2-103
Civil recovery in Virginia for shoplifting is in Code § 8.01-44.4, which can be found here-
Related Questions & Answers
If i have a warrant in chesapeake va and i live in va beach va, will they send va... Asked 6/17/10, 1:03 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Does my wife have the right to sighn my name to nine credit card checks and cash them Asked 6/16/10, 11:44 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Good Morning, I live in the state of VA. I have 2 misdameanor charges/convictions in... Asked 6/16/10, 5:34 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
I was talking to a hooker over the phone acting like i was going to meet her (never... Asked 6/15/10, 5:24 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
If somone has pressed charges against me for assault that they claimed happened a... Asked 6/15/10, 4:10 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law