Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

im currently working for a heating and airconditioning company as a lead generator in a home depot. The sucsess of my commission depends partially on pk,good communication and looking good.I have been with the company for 4 years.I work part time and am often top lg ,competeing with full time employees.With this in mind,my company has issued uniforms and ipads to polish the look.The uniforms are from Cintas and come in s-m-large.i am one of two females.The rest men 20s-30s.I am a odd size.I am size oo and pants are very hard to fit.My shirt is xs,though im 32d and no fat,shirts need to be fitted or i look like a football player chest.At the fittings ,with my company,the woman in charge assured me ,after examining the outfit on me,that their size small was literally 3 sizes too big in the hips,crotch,legs...and the wrong style or cut,odd to my long, thin frame.And the shirt small,ballooned on me,leaving me to appear as if i stepped out of a homeless shelter,with clothes that belong to someone else,that our company will alter them for me.we took measurements.One week later she,who works in our company,then informed me that they prefer if i were to just receive the 20 uniforms and take them to my seamstress and they will take care of it,somehow. A few day later im on the phone with my boss and he tells me that the general manager of the company refuses to pay for my alterations,which now he expects me to pay for that. However, to reconstruct pants is very expensive.25-30 dollars a pair plus shirt 5-10 dollars to seam in front and back. x20 is expensive and i cant afford that. do i have any legal case? discrimination? help,please! i need my job,however cant do it in clothes that dont fit.

Asked on 3/06/11, 4:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, no viable claim for unlawful discrimination against the employer based upon the facts as described (in my opinion).

Read more
Answered on 5/09/11, 9:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now