Legal Question in Immigration Law in Virginia

hello,

this is my question:

I lived for so long in the Usa but at the end I forgot to renew my green card and police stopped me while I was coming back from a weekend in canada,so I've been kicked out of the country. this happened around 8 years ago.

this summer my daughter (who is american citizen) wants to request a green card for me as immediate relative of an American citizen.

what happened to me 8 years ago, will have any effect on this new request? Can i have a new green card even if my old one was revoked?

thanks

Asked on 1/05/13, 12:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Would seem to depend upon the conditions which were imposed

in connection with your deportation and any bar to reentry which

probably would've been at least 10 years.

Read more
1/05/13, 2:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now