Virginia | Social Security Law
Legal Question
Laryngectomee
I have had Laryngectomee Surgery? Can I recive SS Benefits? Am I disabled
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerry Lutkenhaus |
Re: Laryngectomee Dear Sir or Madam:
I understand you have had Laryngectomee Surgery. This is a partial or total removal of the voicebox. You did not indicate how this would affect your ability to work. If this prevented you from working in some way, then it could make you eligible for Social Security. In order to be eligible for Social Security you must have a disability that will last or has lasted for more than 12 months. If your condition will improve in less than 12 months, then you would not be eligible. This could also depend upon your age. If you are older than 55 years of age, then it may be more disabling then if you are younger. It also may depend upon your prior work and your education. If despite this removal, you can do prior work, then you probably would not be eligible.
Jerry Lutkenhaus |
Top Attorneys in VA
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James E. Bowman PLLC
Ashland, VA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-12
Heard & Smith, LLP
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Law Office of Tara Candela, R.N., Esq., PLLC
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-03
Ritchie Law Firm, PLC
Harrisonburg, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Mary G. Commander, Attorney At Law
Norfolk, VA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-09-07
Frank Haskell, III
Upper Marlboro, MD
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-21
Dunlap & Grubb, P.C.
Winchester, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Law Office of Dwayne B. Strothers
Suffolk, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


