Virginia | Tax Law
Legal Question
Can A person have A will containing property and not go thru probate?Or does one have to set up A trusy to bypass probate?And How does one go about paying the least amount in taxes?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paul B. Ward |
For this year, the total estate would have to exceed $3.5 million to be subject to Federal Estate Tax. For next year, an estate of any size can pass free of taxes. After next year, the amount is scheduled to go back to $1 million, but that will probably be changed by Congress.
In Virginia, there is case law to support not probating a will if to do so would just be a waste of time. For example, when there is no taxable estate, the heir at law is the same person to whom the property is given in the will, etc. That sometimes occurs, but rarely. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Edward Gonzalez, PC
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-30
Frank J. Rooney & Associates
Arlington, VA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-12-14
Robert E. Ward & Associates, P.C.
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


