Washington | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Wondering if a plaintiff has any chance of winning in a small claims dispute if a portion of the presented complaint is based on a verbal agreement.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher Steuart |
Yes. Verbal agreements are valid and enforceable, the challenge is the evidence required to prove them. Plaintiff's testimony may be sufficient, but if the other person testifies to the contrary Plaintiff may have a problem as the burden is on the Plaintiff. The more credible testimony will be given more weight and often, although the agreement was not written, there is a record created in the course of dealing which may help in proving the agreement. |
Top Attorneys in WA
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Office of Jonathan Cohen
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-02
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Wolfe Law Group, LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
TrueNorthLaw PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-04-26
Brettin Law Office
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-27
Symmes Law Group, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-19
The Law Offices of Matthew R. King, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Robin L. Scott, Attorney at Law
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


