Washington  |  Family Law

question bubble
7/01/04, 10:25 pm

Legal Question


forum non conveniens

can a us court decline to hear an ongoing divorce case filed by petitioner in a US court if the respondent(both petitioner/respondent on temporary H1B visa in WA state)files a petition in the Indian forum to which petitioner submits and attends hearings? indian forum has complete jurisdiction as Hindu marriages can be dissolved by Hindu marriage act while it is not clear if no-fault decrees from usa are accepted in india.

also residency is associated with domicile and can one on H1B visa say he is a domicile of usa or should he be a green card holder at the least?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search