Washington  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
5/15/08, 1:56 am

Legal Question


Can I use found photographs in a book?

I have an ever-growing collection of found photographs. These come from rolls of film found in cameras at thrift stores. To be more specific: Someone donates a camera to a thrift store without checking if there's film inside and I go buy the camera just for the film.

I would like to create a book using these photographs as a major component. I would not be claiming that they are my work. I would like to use them as a component of a new work. How legal would that be?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search