Washington  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
12/10/08, 3:35 pm

Legal Question


Patentability when previously published?

Am I able to apply for a patent on an invention made by my company, when this invention has been discussed on various internet blogs since the time of invention (less than one year ago)? And do the rules regarding this issue differ in a ''first-to-invent'' country such as the US and ''first-to-file'' countries in Europe? If so, if I was (hypothetically) a European company could I then apply for a US patent on this invention?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search