Washington | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Fired for sexual harrasment
In WA is it legal for an employer to
fire you and say it was for sexual
harrassment and when you ask
for details your just told your fired?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Merry Kogut |
Re: Fired for sexual harrasment Yes, UNLESS you are a government employee or otherwise entitled to a hearing because of a contract, which can sometimes be "found" in a policy manual.
You do have the right to be given the reason in writing. Send a certified, return receipt letter and ask for a reason in writing under WAC 296-126-050(3): (3) Every employer shall, upon written request by the employee, furnish within ten working days of the request to each employee who is discharged a signed written statement, setting forth the reasons for such discharge and the effective date thereof.
Most employees are "at will." You can be fired because your employer doesn't like the way you part your hair unless you are otherwise protected by law or contract.
Good luck, Merry |
Top Attorneys in WA
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Crispin Employment Lawyers
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-21
Robert B Kornfeld, Attorney at Law, Inc., P.S.
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 111
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-28
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Thuong-Tri Legal Services, PLLC
Renton, WA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-03
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Stephen J. Kozer, Attorney at Law P.S. Inc.
Bellingham, WA
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-31
Stephen A. Teller, Attorney at Law
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-07-28
Rieke & Savage, P.C.
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-05-26
Search Questions and Answers


