Wisconsin  |  Construction Law

question bubble
4/30/09, 5:14 pm

Legal Question


General contractor hired a Sub,final bill overinflated

I had a friend that owed me some money put together the plans to build an outbuilding and erect it. He had to hire 3 carpenters to do the framing and so forth,no problem. The electrician gave an initial bid to my friend and we added a few small things to the initial bid,I.E. some extra outlets and some conduit around a workbench area. I never called the sub to get the bid,I didn't even know this guy.A contract was never signed,no handshake nothing. Now I paid the other sub's personally because the job was being done at cost,due to the money owed to me by my friend. I paid an initial $1500 for materials to the electrician,and another 2k later after getting a bill when all the work was done. The only reason I paid the 2k was that it put us in the ballpark as far as the initial bid. He still claims I owe him $1900 more. Claims the initial bid was not for all the work and materials presented to him at the get go. I told him he was given the initial plan and stated he didn't bid it with the electrical panel included,and that add's $1000.Long story short I recieved small claims court papers today.Now correct me if I am wrong,no contract no pay?I paid him the fair amount.I'm done with him.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search