Wisconsin | Family Law
Legal Question
visitation rights
does a child age 13 have right to say weather he or she wants to visit their dad, such as dad wanting to take her out of summer school to go on road with him for 2weeks
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Murrell |
Re: visitation rights Though the child's wishes in these matters are among a statutory list of factors that must be considered, it really depends on what the court order that currently is in effect provides. Consult your copy of the standing order to see if this issue is addressed at all in it. If not, it wouldn't hurt for you to take your child's wishes into consideration. The law presumes that spending good and adequate time with the child's non-custodial parent is in the child's best interests. However, if the child requires summer-school classes in order to gain enough credit to move up to the next grade and/or graduate, then that would be a competing interest against which her wishes to spend those two weeks with her father must be heavily weighed and considered. |
Top Attorneys in WI
Cassiani Law Office, Wise Shepherd Law Office
Green Bay, WI
Questions Answered: 317
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-03
Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-12
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Romero Law Office
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-04-05
Attorney at Law
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Gray, Hudec & Oleniczak
East Troy, WI
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-08-02
Law Office of Dawn Marie Mondus
Andover, MN
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-25
Maurice|Maxwell Mediation, LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
RSM Law Firm, LLC
Franklin, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Lakeland Law Firm, LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


