Wyoming  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
7/08/00, 9:17 pm

Legal Question


name and social security number change

hello,

I want to change my name and also get a new social security number.

My reasons are personal, but the short story is that I was a member of a religious cult for over eight years. I am out of it, and I need to start over.

This is Not an attempt to skip out on any debts, creditors or anything like that.

I own a duplex in Wisconsin which I rent out. I pay someone to manage it, and I pay the mortgage, insurance etc each month. I now have a checking account and an online brokerage account. I have several credit cards, which I pay off every month. I have health insurance and car insurance. I have a driver's license. I have a business, an S-corp, in Wisconsin but am not making any money and want to terminate it.

I want to change my name. I want to put all of the past behind me without losing the material things I have.

I have a Wisconsin driver's license and own the duplex in Wisconsin but I am now living in California. I want to move to Wyoming in the next few months.

What forms do I fill out? Where do I get them? What is the cost? Can I really "get rid of" the old cult me and start over again?

Thanks for any help or suggestions you might have.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search